Welcome to our EYFS

Our early years setting follows the curriculum as outlined in the latest version of the EYFS statutory framework that applies from September 2021.

The EYFS framework includes 7 areas of learning and development that are equally important and inter-connected. However, 3 areas known as the prime areas are seen as particularly important for igniting curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building children’s capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive.  We umbrella this approach by asking our children to ‘Be Ready, Be Curious and Be Kind’ at all times. These are regularly referred to through the day.

The prime areas of learning are:

•          Communication and language

•          Physical development

•          Personal, social and emotional development 

The prime areas of learning are strengthened and applied through 4 specific areas:

•          Literacy

•          Mathematics

•          Understanding the world

•          Expressive arts and design

In the foundation stage we deliver the curriculum through practical, active learning experiences that develop curiosity and independence. Through purposeful play, supported by the adults and purposeful talk to guide the learning the children develop a wide range of skills and concepts needed for their learning. As the children progress and develop the provision and purposeful activities are uplifted to extend learning and ensure that children progress to their potential. Children in Reception slowly transition into more structured activities that are still play based with a fuller schedule, preparing them for year 1 and their academic life. Children in Errington learn phonics using the Read Write Inc scheme of work. Please see the phonics tab for more information.

The early years curriculum is taught through a topic based approach. At Errington we follow a three year rolling programme of topics.  Examples of our topics can be found below.

Cultural Capital

Here at Errington we provide a wide range of opportunities, through the 7 areas of learning we aim to ignite the children’s curiosity through providing varied activities, experiences and opportunities that ignite awe and wonder. This is provided through adult led activities, visits, visitors and through the areas of provision.  Here at Errington we understand that all children have varied experiences of learning and play before joining us. Here at Errington we can help prepare all children for future success.

Please click on the areas of learning to see our children engaging in the activities.

Translate »